The Nomura Ryu Ongaku Kyokai, Hawaii Chapter, lineage of Richard Shigeichi Asato:

First generation – Ryöei Nakama

Second generation – Eikichi Miyagi

Third generation – Seiko Ikehara

Fourth generation – Richard Shigeichi Asato

Seiichi Yagi is the current president of Nomura Ryu Ongaku Kyokai, Hawaii Chapter.

In the Aug. 21, 2020, issue of The Hawai‘i Herald, Grant Murata — writer and Afuso-ryu shihan (master) of uta-sanshin — chronicles the roots of uta-sanshin in Hawai‘i in the article “Okinawan Pioneers in Hawai’i.”   


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here