O‘AHU

June 3 (Sat.): Hawaii’s Plantation Village, 5:45 p.m., following 5:30 p.m. blessing; food booths/food trucks, shave ice truck, craft vendors and baked goods booths available from 4:30 p.m. (94-695 Waipahu St., 677-0110)

June 17 (Sat.): Ewa Hongwanji, 7 p.m., following 6 p.m. service; food booths available (91-1133 Renton Rd., 681-5222)

June 23-24 (Fri./Sat.): Honpa Hongwanji Hawaii Betsuin, 6-10:30 p.m. Also featured are a Bon Boutique (“things Oriental”), Bon Dance portrait taking, food booths and snacks. Performances by Iwakuni Odori Aiko Kai, Honolulu Fukushima Bon Dance Club and Hawaii Eisa Shinyu Kai. Practice sessions Monday-Wednesday, June 19-21, at 7:30 p.m.; combined Bon Mairi services on Saturday, July 15 and 22, at 10 a.m. and 5 p.m.; combined Hatsubon services on Sunday, July 16 and 23, at 5 p.m. (1727 Pali Hwy., 536-7044)

June 23-24 (Fri./Sat.): Wahiawa Hongwanji, following 6:30 p.m. service; Obon service on Sunday, Aug. 6, at 9 a.m. (1067 California Ave., 622-4320)

June 30-July 1 (Fri./Sat.): Moiliili Hongwanji, 5-10 p.m. at the Varsity Theatre parking lot, both nights. June 30 bon dance by Moiliili Hongwanji. July 1 bon dance is part of the Moiliili Summer Fest. Vendors and concession booths will be available. Bon Mairi combined service on Friday, July 7, at 7 p.m. and Saturday, July 8, at 10 a.m.; combined Hatsubon service on Saturday, July 8 at 7 p.m.; Sunday, July 9: Obon service at 9 a.m., Mokotsudo (columbarium service) at 11 a.m. and Ohaka Mairi at Moiliili Cemetery at 4 p.m. ((902) 949-1659)

To see the full content please subscribe to our Basic Online annual subscription.
Log In Subscribe