A Memorandum of Understanding, or MOU, was signed on March 9 by the presidents of the Japanese, Filipino, Korean and Chinese chambers of commerce. In accordance with the MOU, the four chambers will seek opportunities to work together in areas of business and education and in the preservation and perpetuation of each other’s cultural heritage.

The four chambers were represented by Tyler Tokioka, chairman of the board of the Honolulu Japanese Chamber of Commerce; Sam Acosta, president of the Filipino Chamber of Commerce of Hawaii; Eddie Flores Jr., president of the Chinese Chamber of Commerce of Hawaii and Daniel Pyun, president of the Hawaii Korean Chamber of Commerce. Hawai’i Gov. David Ige, Consulate General of Japan Yasushi Misawa, Consulate General of the Republic of Korea in Honolulu Walter Paik and Philippine Consulate General in Honolulu Gina Jamoralin witnessed the signing.

The MOU signing ceremony was held in the Platinum Service Club Lounge of the DFS Galleria and provided an opportunity for members of the four chambers to interact and network with one another.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here